Why do I miss girly sleepovers?

 

img_1578

At 24 years old, you’d think I would have gotten over having girly sleepovers. Truth is, I’ve absolutely not! We quite often have people to stay, whether its friends or family visiting, Liams man cave is always equipped with the airbed, ready to have guests for the weekend (or during the week- whenever our visitors decide to come). To me, that’s not a sleepover. Sleepovers are when you’re in you pyjamas by 8pm, eating endless amount of snack (I used to eat so many sweets that I felt physically sick), before lying in the dark chatting until someone eventually drifts off. I hadn’t had a night like that in ages, and it made me really sad.

Having lived with Liam for over to years (side note- its been just over two years since we moved to Manchester, time flies right?), there’s rarely been a night where I’ve been in the house alone. He’s always about, which I’m more than happy about. However last week he headed up to Edinburgh for an old work reunion and I realised that I was going to be alone in the house- and honestly I wasn’t sure how I felt about it. I’d love to say that I’m a sassy independent woman who loves spending time by myself and can deal with everything that comes my way, but that would be a slight over exaggeration of the truth. I am independent and all of the above, except when it comes to strange noises in the middle of the night, and waking up without someone beside me- then I turn into a complete wimp. Fortunately for me, Shauangh was free and up for a sleepover, so what could have been a stressful night for me, turned into a fun evening where I was reminded of those girly sleepovers I was so fond of.

We had dinner, dyed my hair, drank tea and chatted till it was reasonably late (okay, very late for me, it was eleven), before sinking into bed. Lights were out and we lay scrolling through phones- sociable, I know- and chatting a bit before drifting off to sleep. It was everything I wanted from the evening, and I slept soundly. Liam doesn’t like to chat before we go to sleep, which I get, as we spend so much time chatting anyway, and even I would get sick of myself if we did- so it was so nice to have someone who does. Maybe I can convince him to go away more often so I can squeeze in those girly nights? Or invite myself to others more often- cheeky I know, but I’m going to need to get those sleepover in somehow now that I remember what I’m missing out on.

  • These photos are from London a couple of months ago. We spent the night in Pyjamas, so it seemed fitting to put pictures of myself and Shaunagh up where we actually look human. We took so many photos in London that it’s a shame for them to go to waste.
Leave a Reply

